No Soap, No Shampoo Challenge Follow-up

After about 3 weeks of using no soap or no shampoo products, I went back on the wagon.  Yes, I am back to using soap and shampoo (natural ones of course).  It was a good challenge and I am glad I did it.

I was not crazy about not using soap on my face.  I do not think my face ever truly adjusted.  My routine is to use a gentle, natural cleanser on my face at night followed by some sort of natural rinse (milk, water, rosewater, juice, etc.) on the face in the morning.  I don’t feel as if my skin is stripped of its natural moisture but I do feel as if my skin is dry. So I moisturize and hydrate often throughout the day. I didn’t like the feel of my face during this trial.  Maybe I did not allow enough time for my face to adjust but the breakouts are killing me.

I was very pleased with the results of the baking soda & vinegar (except for the smell) use for my hair.  When I went to my stylist,(Vanessa at Red OTS Salon – who totally rocks!) she said my hair was in great shape especially considering I hadn’t been in for awhile.  I also noticed that when I started using shampoo & conditioner again, my hair seemed to accept the product better.  I noticed a difference and it was for the better.

The baking soda and vinegar act as a detox for the hair, removing product buildup. So just like any detox, it should be done occasionally.  I know people you use the regimen 100% of the time.  I don’t think I can be one of those, but I do see myself doing it for a week every few months or so. Even I can stand the vinegar smell for that short a period of time. So give it a try and let me know what you think.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kimberly Mangan
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 10:46:53

    What were the ratios of the solutions you made??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Google
