One Hour at a Time.

Preparing for Black Friday and the whole holiday season has been daunting to say the least.  First of all, I thought it would be quiet during the beginning of November giving me ample time to prepare.  But NO!  I did not plan (or think I needed to plan) for families heading out of town for Thanksgiving.  Apparently everyone wanted to bring some fizziness to other parts of the country.  I am beyond grateful even though I was caught a bit off guard!  So my motto became one hour at a time.  A full day was too long but I can manage an hour.

This pre-rush of gift buying set me seriously behind schedule.  I felt totally unprepared heading into the busiest shopping weekend of the year.  So I decided to work on Thanksgiving knowing I could not enjoy the day with all that had to be done.  Kelly (my savior) sensed my desperation and brought mimosas to the shop while offering her help.  I am not sure my emotional breakdown of great proportions was on the schedule but she stood by me and let me rant and rave. She also gave me some great suggestions to increase my productivity and efficiency which I have put into action.  And they work!  Kelly has been baking for 20 years and she stated the obvious – you are a kitchen, you just need to move your mind out of the kitchen in your home and into a commercial kitchen.  Thanks to Kelly, I survived the day and left the store feeling very good.

Guess What?  Black Friday came and went and I survived.  I even had everything in stock for every buyer – I did have to replenish a few things throughout the day but I am totally OK with that.  My biggest hiccup so far is that I ran out of my body cream and scrub containers going into First Friday and the weekend. Instead of guessing which scents to put into my precious last few containers,  I just offered to custom scent products as people came in.  I LOVED it!  I think the customers did too.  I just had bulk bins of body creams and sugar scrubs ready to go.  I scooped some out and added the scent and into the hands of the customer it went.  I am seriously thinking of how to incorporate this into my shop on a daily basis. How fun!

With the holiday season, we are bombarded with ads spouting the latest and greatest sales events.  I often feel the need to put things on sale just because other stores are offering huge sales or discounts.  I have made a conscious decision to take a different route.  First of all, my products are fairly priced.  If you have been in to the store or been online then you know you are getting a pretty good deal for quality stuff.  So instead of marking things way up to mark them way down again, I just decided to price fairly.  I have been told by many that I should mark up my prices – really.  I have made the decision to reward my existing customers.  My existing customers tell others and they tell others and so on.  So when I offer a sale or a discount, I want to do so to those of you that support me.  You will find our deals on Facebook and Twitter, so follow us there.  Even random spur of the moment deals will be posted here. The key is – you must mention Facebook or Twitter or use the appropriate code online.

So back to the custom scenting idea.  I have already decided that I will be introducing some new products and scents in the new year.  We all know by now that deodorant is on the list.  And I promise I will work on it after the New Year.  But what else would you like to see?  I am really looking forward to January so I can play in the kitchen again – even if it is moving towards the commercial kind.  I promise to take it one hour at a time.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kimberly
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 18:15:50

    I think you need to produce a shampoo bar so I don’t have to order mine online!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Eunice
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 20:29:24

    So glad that you are finding ways to put efficiencies into your shop. That will be your sanity saver right there.

    Reply

    • fizzbathshop
      Dec 08, 2010 @ 22:32:51

      It is truly helping. I have to stop thinking small even though I like small. I am growing beyond that now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Google
